A Response to the Woolwich Incident by Shaykh Abdalhaqq Bewley

I’ve been away (from blogging) for a few weeks and haven’t closely followed the Woolwich incident. I’ve posted this video by Shaykh Abdalhaqq Bewley to demonstrate the general flavour of British Muslim sentiment from an ‘indigenous’ English Muslim revert.

 

***

I’ve only read one initial story and saw clips of the murderer with blood on his hands.

 

***

Condolences to the family of Lee Rigby. 😦 Thoughts and prayers are with them.

 

***

In terms of meting out justice this way – well, this is revenge – not justice. And two wrongs don’t make a right! And a murderer is a murderer. (Everyone knows that the term ‘terrorist’ is an ideological word used to justify ‘wars’ against ‘terrorism’.) The criminals should be trialled like criminals in the usual way, I guess.

 

***

I’m assuming from what little I’ve gleaned from mainstream media that this story is (more-or-less) true… And since all mainstream media reports on ‘terror’ tend to be spin with some other objective, I’ve recently not tended to rely on its presentation of facts as though it were the gospel truth. I will do my best, however, to give the benefit of the doubt and assume unlike the Boston Bombing incident there is no weird, messy involvement of secret services in this story (i.e. evidence of secret services talking with the suspects prior to the crime etc). Because if there is, this will render the whole news story problematic, right?

 

***

Finally, we should all be outraged at the murder of innocents wherever they are in the world – whether in the UK or in Palestine!

 

Paul Salahuddin Armstrong

View original post

6 Comments

Filed under Video, War in Errorism

6 responses to “A Response to the Woolwich Incident by Shaykh Abdalhaqq Bewley

  1. maryamchahine

    Masha’Allah! I’ve always admired the Bewleys for their translations, but this was my first time hearing a talk from Shaykh Bewley. Such clarity and common sense. It was a horrendous act divorced of any humanity. It is sad though that Muslims have to explain Islam and separate themselves from such an act. Adherents of other faiths don’t have to apologize each time one of their own commits a crime, yet Muslim have to do so every time. However, this is a test from God and we must speak the truth and remain patient. Baraka Allahu Feek for sharing!

    Like

    • You’re right sis about the fact that Muslims have to always explain themselves. And yet your quote “this is a test from God and we must speak the truth and remain patient” hits the nail on the head.

      Given the fact that ‘born’-Muslims have done such a poor job till the recent past at relaying the message of Islam in the West (me included) – perhaps this is Allah’s way of forcing the Muslims to open mouths and open brains from our bewildered stupor. I’m thinking particularly about ‘cultural’ Muslims who have been more interested in following the way of their fathers rather than the way of the Prophet (pbuh)…

      Perhaps I’m being too mean? Well, I include myself with those who are trying to ‘wake up’… Allah knows Best

      :-/

      Like

      • maryamchahine

        I don’t think you are being mean at all….just honest. Well, at least it doesn’t appear mean as I’ve said much worse about Muslims as sometimes I get so disappointed and it doesn’t help that I’m an idealist ; ) We have done a poor job, myself included. Allah is now giving us opportunities to rectify the situation. May Allah help us to convey the truth the way our Beloved Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) did.

        Like

      • “as I’ve said much worse…”: Ok that made me smile, lol!

        “May Allah help us to convey the truth the way our Beloved Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) did.”:

        Ameen

        Like

  2. Excellent! MashAllah. Haven’t heard of Shaykh Bewley before but he’s addressed this very well mashAllah

    Like

Leave a Reply

