The Global Starvation NORM

Evolution to Pig

Some are shocked by the evolutionists’ claim: we came from the small ape and evolved into man, big.

More shocked am I by how we have evolved even further, progressing from ‘big man’ to the pinnacle of the pig.

Arif uz Zaman

March 2013

the poor 1

http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/blog/2013/mar/06/food-riots-new-normal

This article is a MUST READ! Entitled:

Why food riots are likely to become the new normal

I will summarise it in 3 easy points:

1. The fundamental trigger for the Arab Spring was the severe food price rises, as yet unsolved. This simply reflects a deeper systemic problem: “the global industrial food system is increasingly unsustainable.”

2. Climate change is critically devastating the world’s major “food basket regions”.

3. Predatory Speculation by banks on commodities (including food) increase prices in order to make significant profits (for the rich) at the expense of the world’s poor. A civilisational collapse is ever more likely in our time.

SASHA-sad-girl

The article was written by Nafeez Mosaddeq Ahmed and appeared in The Guardian.

Check his blog (click on his name, above) and read his other articles, including:

Seven Myths About the Iraq War: How BBC Newsnight failed journalism on the 10 year anniversary of the invasion

QUOTES:

“They will go through bone like butter… They will go through a body that weighs 200 pounds in about eight minutes. That means that a single pig can consume two pounds of uncooked flesh every minute. Hence the expression, ‘as greedy as a pig’.”

Brick Top from the movie, Snatch, 2000

“No question now, what had happened to the faces of the pigs. The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.”
– George Orwell, Animal Farm, Ch. 10

poor 2

9 Comments

Filed under Arif uz Zaman: Article, Arif uz Zaman: Poetry, Poetry

9 responses to “The Global Starvation NORM

  1. Pingback: Darwinism in reverse | Exploring Life, The Universe and Everything

  2. Julie

    This very subject has been a dear cause of mine for many years. Sometimes, I get so wrapped up in the thoughts of it that I have to give myself a vacation from the idea of it. May I ask you, and I hesitate to ask because I don’t think I’m supposed to, but can’t help but thinking: what happens if God is no longer the Sustainer because of man’s greed and corruption, of their manipulation of Life itself, which has been going on for decades now – i.e. agri-giants, IMF, World Bank, and everyone down the line after that? God is the Sustainer. This is a major message of the Qur’an. Do you have any thoughts on this?

    Like

    • Julie

      I’ve been considering this question I posed more in depth. I don’t believe that God would ever not be the Sustainer. That would never cease. My faith is very strong, but is it wrong to worry when so many are starving and suffering when normally they wouldn’t be if it weren’t for man’s insatiable greed, like never before?

      Like

      • Julie, take heart. Sorry your words got me thinking and then I ended up writing too much – here: https://modwestmuse.wordpress.com/2013/03/12/the-age-of-manipulation where I’ve tried to answer my understanding of it. Apologies for the delay, I’ve not checked my blog over the weekend. In a nutshell: Allah is in power, but we can self harm (because Allah has given us license to) – think of man-created famines, wars, suicide… And this makes it ever more pressing that we never stay silent – in order to share the ‘light’ we have with others. But we must do so in the spirit of genteelness. Stay positive sis, despite ‘the everything’ that appears otherwise. 🙂

        Like

      • Julie

        This is wonderful. Indeed you have been writing. I can’t wait to read this…digging in. 🙂

        Like

  3. Going to read the article momentarily.

    I’ll say this first. There’s not a shortage of food in the world yet. There’s a shortage of money to pay for it. And this is not by chance. This is the capitalist paradigm. Buy or Die.

    Like

  4. Good article. This issue is too large for a real response in a comment. A very lengthy book might not be enough.

    Unless radical action is taken immediately to mitigate global warming, all bets are off.

    Unless agribusinesses, like monsanto, are nationalised and forced into the organic mode with their resources used to advance sustainability instead of generating profits, all bets are off.

    Making a profit can only happen when you take more out of the closed system then you put back in. This defies the most basic laws of physics.

    Unless the for-profit capitalist paradigm is abandoned in favour of a Resource Based Economy that uses no money, all bets are off.

    Every day, as I’ve done for over fifty years, I look around and take stock of things. When I suppress my emotions, when I look at reality pragmatically, I can’t avoid the conclusion that all bets are off.

    I think we had our chance and we blew it. We are a failed species. Extinction is our most probable destination. Probably before the end of the century.

    Like

    • Must definitely check out your resource based economy post. Oh thanks for commenting! I was going to say: ‘businesses not making profits’?! Although there is a logic to the sentiment – this is not going to be accepted by the capitalists at all – as you quite rightly stated. Richard,I find your thoughts truly intriguing. I like how you’re coming at it from a different angle (from what I’m used to, obviously). I’ve got so much to read of yours and so little time! 🙂

      Peace

      Like

      • Life is an endless education. There is and always will be more to learn than time to learn it.

        My words and thoughts are only tiny drops in a vast ocean of information and only you can determine what priority they deserve.

        Of course my viewpoint is “radical” to any capitalist or anyone who “believes” in “profit” and “competition”. Nothing less than radical, fundamental change stands a chance of pulling us back from the edge.

        We have, as a species, only two options: fundamentally change the way we perceive and interact with each other, all Life and the environment or vanish into the void of extinction.

        Just my opinion.
        Consummatum est.

        Like

Leave a Reply

